UEFA Has Completed Seeding Clubs into Various Pots for Champions League Group Stage Draws.

As UEFA get set to make Champions League Group stage draws, Clubs that qualified for the Tournament have already known which Pots there are seeded into.

Clubs are placed into different pots according to their coefficient – a means of ranking Clubs that UEFA has devised.

During the course of a season, Clubs are awarded points based on their performances – their victories, their draws and Defeats.

The better a Clubs performed in a season, the higher the Club is ranked, which then determined the Pot such club will be placed in.



Clubs in Pot 1 are usually the Winners of the Top European leagues, Champions League and Europa league Trophy holders.

As revealed by UEFA, this is how the Clubs have been seeded:


Liverpool, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, Juventus, Inter Milan or Sevilla, PSG, Zenit St Petersburg and Porto.


Chelsea, Manchester United, Manchester City, Barcelona, Athletico Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Shaktar Donetsk and one of Sevilla, Ajax or Benfica.



Benfica or Inter Milan, Ajax, Dynamo Kiev, Rb Salzburg, Rb Leipzig, Olympiacos, Lazio and Celtic.


Atalanta, Dynamo Zagreb, Locomotiv Moscow, Marseille, Club Brugge, Borussia Monchengladbach, Istanbul Basaksehir and Stare Rennais.

Clubs will be drawn for each pot to make a total of four to form a group that will play against each other in the group stage.

The draw is set to take place on the 1st of October, 2020.

The seeding also reveals the potential opponent that club could play against in the group stage.

Let us know what you think by dropping your comments. Don’t forget to like and share.

Leave a Reply