MOBOs 2020: Nines, Headie One, Mahalia lead top winners as Ms Banks and H.E.R. perform

Headie One, Nines and Mahalia were among the stars who were crowned big winners at tonight’s MOBOs 2020 awards.

Maya Jama and Chunkz did the honours of hosting the virtual ceremony with guest presenters including Leomie Anderson, Jourdan Dunn and Neelam Gill. Performances came from Headie One, Tiwa Savage, Ms Banks, H.E.R. and Kojey Radical.

Leading the way, Nines scooped the prestigious album of the year for the chart-topping Crabs In A Bucket, beating the likes of Stormzy, J Hus and Lianne La Havas. Finishing off his triumph, Nines also won best hip hop act.

Headie One, dubbed the King of Drill, bagged the coveted best male act following an incredibly successful year. The Tottenham-born rapper also delivered a slick medley performance of hit singles Bumpy Ride along with M Huncho and Teach Me, which features on his number one debut album Edna.

The artist also teamed up with Young T & Bugsey for a performance of their smash hit single and viral TikTok song Don’t Rush.

Singer Mahalia scooped up best female act and best R&B/soul act – her first major music awards win following a consistently noteworthy rise in recent years.

Leomie Anderson at the MOBO Awards 2020
Model Leomie Anderson completely slayed her red carpet look (Picture: Getty Images)
Jourdan Dunn at the MOBO Awards 2020
Jourdan Dunn channelled her inner animal (

The Leicestershire-born rising star released her debut album, Love and Compromise, in 2019 which includes the banger Shimmer featuring Burna Boy and What You Did featuring Ella Mai.

Aitch won best newcomer and said: ‘Thank you very much. First and foremost big up the fans for voting… big up everyone around me at the moment. There’s loads of new artists bringing out sick music so I feel privileged to be one of those.


zone post image for post 13725219
Maya Jama slays while rocking her lighter locks ahead of MOBO Awards 2020

‘It makes me feel like the fans are behind me 10 times more, it’s been a bit of a mad year, a quiet year but let’s you know the fans are still backing me.’

Young T & Bugsey scooped song of the year for Don’t Rush while Burna Boy won best international act

Leave a Reply