BREAKING:English Premier League EPL 2020-2021 starts September 12

The Premier League has today announced the next league campaign will begin on 12 September. A conclusion date has also been revealed.

The Premier League’s statement reads:

‘Premier League Shareholders today agreed to start the 2020/21 Premier League season on 12 September.

‘The final match round of the campaign will take place on 23 May.

‘The Premier League will continue to consult The FA and EFL regarding the scheduling of all domestic competitions

The season is slated to end on May 23, 2021, EPL stated.

Premier League clubs themselves are reportedly more keen on the September start date and it is understandable given that their players will have just played out a gruelling end to the 2019-20 season.

In normal circumstances, teams are granted a three-month break from competitive action, with the league season usually concluding in May and starting up again in August.

Pre-season, the period when players hone their match fitness, tends to kick off around a month before the first competitive games, but that will be impossible ahead of the 2020-21 season

Premier League edging closer to 2020/21 season September start ...

Which teams will be involved in Premier League 2020-21?

There will be 20 clubs in the 2020-21 Premier League and a number of them have already been confirmed as it becomes mathematically impossible for them to be relegated.

Three clubs will be relegated to the Championship, with Norwich City being the first to drop. Aston Villa, Bournemouth, Watford and West Ham all very much fighting to retain their place at the top table.

Club Stadium 2019-20 position
Arsenal Emirates Stadium TBC
Burnley Turf Moor TBC
Chelsea Stamford Bridge TBC
Crystal Palace Selhurst Park TBC
Everton Goodison Park TBC
Leeds United Elland Road 1st Championship
Leicester City King Power Stadium TBC
Liverpool Anfield 1st
Manchester City Etihad Stadium 2nd
Manchester United Old Trafford TBC
Newcastle United St James’ Park TBC
Sheffield United Bramall Lane TBC
Southampton St Mary’s Stadium TBC
Tottenham Tottenham Hotspur Stadium TBC
Wolves Molineux Stadium TBC
TBC 2nd Championship
TBC Championship play-offs winner

The three relegated clubs will be replaced by three teams from the Championship. Leeds United are confirmed as the first promoted team.

They will be joined by either West Brom, Brentford or Fulham, all of which are in the mix for the other automatic promotion spot. The final promotion will be decided through the play-offs.

Leave a Reply